Wednesday, February 21, 2007

My Story, Part 3: Earning a Living


I own and operate two home businesses. My main bread and butter comes from my licensed family home daycare business which I've had for 10 years. Up to now, I've taken care of 4 children 0 to 12 months. Since I'd like to increase my income and not have any babies around the same age my daughter may be when I bring her home, I'm expanding in July to 3 babies under 2 and 3 toddlers over 2.

I have so much experience with babies and small children that my friends and friends of friends call me first to ask advice before calling their doctors! I can't wait to put it all to good use on my own child. Best of all, I won't have to send my child out to daycare, but be a stay-at-home mom to her.

I also own my own sewing pattern business called New Conceptions, which is 8 years old. I started this business when one of my daycare children needed a better cloth diaper and I realized that the pattern was very much in demand. My pattern line has grown considerably since then and I'm looking forward to publishing more and more patterns. The little guy in this picture was my model for my patterns Baby Essentials and The One-Hour Bodyshirt. His smile was guaranteed every time.

To accommodate a larger daycare in my two-bedroom apartment, I moved all my sewing equipment, which is considerable, to a commercial office, and I'm loving it.

I am also a birth and postpartum doula, lactation specialist and lay midwife (for friends having "unassisted" births at home). I currently don't practice commercially since I don't want to be awakened in the middle of the night, however, I still provide care for close friends.

In the past I've taught piano lessons and coached gymnastics.

No comments: