Thursday, February 22, 2007

My Story, Part 5: Hobbies and Interests


Late afternoon at Half Moon Bay

Besides just about anything having to do with babies, there are many other things I like to do.

I am a competitive fencer. I took it up 5 1/2 years ago, at the age of 33, and realized I loved it and was pretty good at it so I started competing for the first time in my life in a sport, except for one gymnastics tournament when I was 14 or 15. I have competed in two Summer Nationals, 2005 in Sacramento and 2006 in Atlanta.

I love to read for knowledge, pleasure and relaxation. I prefer a wide range of subjects, but for relaxing, there's nothing better than a good mystery romance in the bathtub!

I play the piano, too. In January I purchased a lovely little used Chickering console piano off of Craig's List. I'd been looking at it since Nov. 18 but things kept coming up, like having to have my wisdom teeth removed and the transmission replaced in my car, then, my adoption. Suddenly, though, everything came together and I was able to get it. The people I purchased it from will be life-long friends. The previous owner's mother was born and raised in China, having a father in the ink/dye import business. In 2004, the previous owner and her mother travelled to China to see where her mother lived and grew up. She actually gave me two 10 yuan bills that she had left. And, she has a friend who just came back in October with her daughter and I met them at the FCC Between Two New Years Party.

A piano in the home is very important to me. I have such great memories of my mom playing and me playing and singing around the piano, duets and holiday songs, when I was little, chopsticks and Peter, Peter Pumpkin Eater. When I think of raising my daughter, I know it's a miracle that things worked out the way they did for me to now have this piano.

If I could ride across the Pacific Ocean, I'd be in China!

I enjoy Nature, and can't wait to take my daughter to Ocean Beach for the first time. I love horseback riding, though I don't get to do it much. I ride my bike instead of drive when I can (I've had a baby seat on the back of it for years), and walk frequently.

I sew clothing very well, hence the pattern business, but can sew just about anything. I also knit, crochet, smock and do other hand-sewing. I'm looking forward to smocking and knitting during the long wait for my referral.

I love dolls. I love baby dolls, Barbie dolls, and doll houses and miniature dolls. If my daughter doesn't like dolls, that's fine by me, but if she does, we are going to have a blast making doll houses and doll clothes!

I dabble in photography and have the most practice and skill photographing births and newborns.

I enjoy cooking and baking from scratch and usually cook once a week for the week and freeze stuff. It sure saves time when it comes to doing the dishes.

No comments: